Home / Racing News / Ganas, Surfer solid in last Meydan meeting of 2012

Ganas, Surfer solid in last Meydan meeting of 2012

Ernst Oertel trainee Ganas became the first horse in the UAE to win three races this season, doing it in three consecutive races to begin the season.  All three victories have come on the front-end under Tadhg O’Shea, a new association that began this season after O’Shea’s association with Sheikh Hamdan bin Rashid Al Maktoum came to an end.  Ganas got Thursday’s 1,200 metre trip in 1:10.74, the fastest time of the season, by far.  Off a rating of 93, he is likely to see another significant rise in the ratings, certainly guaranteeing Carnival access.

Surfer, ridden by Richard Mullen, has done more than shed his maiden tag, something accomplished last time out, when winning Thursday by an easy two lengths.  Covered up for most of the journey, Mullen found the seams and kicked on to defeat Sand Stamp and Entifaadha.  After the race, trainer Satish Seemar indicated Surfer didn’t seem to be himself in the last few days, but was good enough to run.  At 100 percent, it will be fun to continue following his progression.

Racing continues in the UAE at Abu Dhabi on Sunday, with a fabulous card highlighted by the HH The President’s Cup.

One comment

  1. Clive Cox ran Ganas 5 or 6 times on turf during the summer in Great Britain, but he could manage no better than a 4th place finish. A different story entirely since he’s been in Dubai. Ganas is clearly a horse who loves the tapeta surface, having won all 3 starts at the winter meeting. He bolted up in his first 2 wins. His third not quite as impressive a margin of victory, only 1-1/2 lengths. But the level of competition was markedly tougher, too. To win that race Ganas had to beat the likes of Happy Dubai, Green Beret, Alo Pura, & Mutheeb. All horses who’ve been proven performers and winners at Meydan over course and distance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Scroll To Top